Home‎ > ‎

About Our PTA

About the Burning Tree PTA

The Burning Tree Elementary School PTA represents an effective partnership between school, home and the community. PTA volunteers, programs and funds support BT staff and families, enhance the MCPS curriculum and enable advocacy for issues that impact out children and the Whitman cluster.

PTA meetings are typically held in the Media Center at Burning Tree on the first Tuesday of the month scheduled. Please refer to the school calendar for exact dates and times. Free, on-site childcare is provided for children 4 years old and older. Generally, a program of interest to the parent community is offered at every PTA meeting. The principal, members of the board of directors as well as committee chairs report on school news and events. The community is welcome, and parents are encouraged to participate in these discussions. Please note that only PTA members may vote on school-related issues. By contacting any board of directors member, any PTA member may request that an item be included for discussion on any PTA meeting agenda. Questions or concerns may also be raised as New Business during any PTA meeting.

Please read more about the benefits of membership here, or simply click here to join.

To learn about the PTA Board, please click here.

PTA 2016-2017 Budget

PTA Minutes



The 2016-17 PTA Board of Directors

PTA President

Katy Greenberg
(201) 978-4511
president@burningtreepta.org

PTA President-Elect

Jen Dragone
(301) 758-7410
president_elect@burningtreepta.org

Treasurer

Maureen Javers
(240) 381-5817
treasurerbtpta@gmail.com

VP of Fundraising

Linda Haglund
(301) 562-3426
fundraising@burningtreepta.org


VP of Volunteers

Meri-Margaret Deoudes
(202) 285-2869
volunteers@burningtreepta.org

VP of School-Based Programs

Julie Fritts
(202) 329-1471
school_based_prgms@burningtreepta.org

VP of Community Building Programs

Cathy Schupak
(301) 672-6889
comm_bldg_prgms@burningtreepta.org

VP of Communications

Amy Buckley
(202) 262-0845
communications@burningtreepta.org

Correspondence Secretary

Elizabeth Cormier
(215) 275-0225
correspondence@burningtreepta.org

Membership Secretary

Catherine Iversen
membership@burningtreepta.org

MCCPTA Delegate

Norann Zahoul
(202) 253-9402
mccpta_delegate@burningtreepta.org

At Large Representatives



Cluster Representatives

Yeages Cowan
(301) 933-4944
cluster_rep@burningtreepta.org

Lee Graeff
(301) 767-8919
cluster_rep@burningtreepta.org

International Community Representative

Nina Kutty
(773) 710-9293
int_comm_rep@burningtreepta.org

Students with Accommodations Representative

Robin Blumgart
(240) 753-2063
students_w_accom@burningtreepta.org

Ex-Officio Members

Yeages Cowan
(301) 933-4944
yeagescowan@gmail.com

Lee Graeff
(301) 767-8919
lee@21btc.net

Anh LyJordan
(240) 515-6975
alyjordan@gmail.com

Teacher Representatives

Judy Shapiro
Mary Whalen